What are the different Zones in the Income Tax Department?

For the purposes of the Income Tax Act, the entire country has been divided into 18 zones. Each of these zones is headed by a Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax (Pr. CCIT) supported by CCITs and Pr. CITs. The list of these 18 zones and the regions comprised in them is as shown in the below picture: – 

Zones in income tax department
 18 Zones of Income Tax Department. 


  1. Chandigarh zone comprises Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and the Jammu Region.
  2. Maharastra has 3 zones within it, namely Mumbai, Pune, and Nagpur. Mumbai zone is the entire Mumbai city. Pune region covers western Maharastra (excluding Mumbai) whereas the Nagpur region covers the eastern Maharastra.
  3. Karnataka zone includes Goa region in itself.
  4. Uttar Pradesh has 2 zones. UP (East) and UP (West). UP West also includes Uttarakhand within its fold.
  5. North Eastern zone covers 7 sister states namely Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Tripura, Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland.
  6. More details on these can be obtained from this page.

These zones are significant for administrative purposes. No candidate below the rank of ACIT is eligible for transfer to another zone. If anyone below the rank of ACIT wants to change his/her zone, he will have to take an Inter Charge Transfer (ICT) which is a pretty costly option in terms of seniority.

Each zone maintains its own seniority list and vacancy list. Consequently, some of the states have faster promotions than others. Its a widespread belief in ITD that Mumbai and Chennai region have fastest promotions.

The preference for zones is asked by the department after the final results have been declared by the SSC. Once the list of selected Income Tax Inspectors is out, candidates are required to visit the website of the department i.e. www.incometaxindia.gov.in and visit the ‘What’s new’ section of the page. You will find a link which will direct you to another page. This page will have instructions and a form to be downloaded. This form contains the list of 18 zones and the candidates have to fill in these zones based on their preference. After that, you have to send this form at the given address. Within 2 months, you will get your allotted region and after 3-4 months, your joining letter.

Thanks for reading.

Liked it? Read further on this subject:

  1. The Salary and the Perks of an Income Tax Inspector (ITI).
  2. Transfer Policy of Income Tax Department: the best in SSC?
  3. Inter Charge Transfer (ICT) in the Income Tax Department: the Pros and the Cons?
  4. Should you go for Inspector of Income Tax or for Sub-inspector of CBI?

Good luck and Best wishes.

Doubts? Drop a line in the Comments. We’ll help you out.

%d bloggers like this: